Ice Bucket Challenge Progress

 

Chapter Calendar

There are occasional exceptions to the dates below. Please see our Chapter Calendar for exact dates. For questions or to speak with one of our outreach professionals, contact Claudia Beirne, Senior Programs Manager, at claudia@alsnc.org, 919-755-0910 or 1-877-568-4347, ext. 225.

Connection Groups - For those living with ALS, caregivers, family and friends (ages 16+)

The ALS Association North Carolina Chapter holds connection groups each month for persons with ALS, caregivers, family and friends ages 16 and over. Meetings provide information on ALS and encourage in-person connection for sharing and creating an informal support network. Click here to learn more about connection groups.

Please note that we have one main office for North Carolina located in Raleigh. While we have staff members in the Charlotte, Raleigh and Winston-Salem areas who facilitate support groups, others are part-time, contracted professionals who are local to the area they serve.

In-Person Groups:

Asheville Area
When: 4th Wednesday of every month, 1:00 - 2:30 pm
Where: 23 Edwin Place, Asheville, NC
Facilitator: Jenny Martin, LCSW (contractor)
Contact: jmartin@alsnc.org

Charlotte Area
When: 1st Tuesday of every month, 1:00 - 2:30 pm
Where: Tyvola Senior Center
  2225 Tyvola Road, Charlotte, NC
Facilitator: Jocelyn Chrisley, MSW (full-time remote staff)
Contact: jocelyn@alsnc.org or (919) 390-0126

Charlotte/Matthews Area Caregivers
When: 2nd Sunday of every month, 2:30 - 4:00 pm
Where: 1122 Sam Newell Rd, Ste 104, Matthews, NC
Facilitator: Sarah DeMaison, LCSW (contractor)
Contact: sdemaison@alsnc.org

Greensboro/Triad Area
When: 2nd Tuesday of every month, 5:30 - 7:00 pm
Where: St. Andrew's Church
  2105 W. Market Street, Greensboro, NC
Facilitator: Katie Wangelin, LCSW (contractor)
Contact: kwangelin@alsnc.org

Greenville Area
When: 3rd Wednesday of every month, 5:30 - 7:00 pm
Where: Vidant Rehabilitation Center Classroom
   (located behind the children's hospital)
   2100 Stantonsburg Road, Greenville, NC
Facilitator: Phyllis Hazel, MSS (contractor)
Contact: phazel@alsnc.org

Triangle Area (Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill)
When: 2nd Sunday of every month, 2:30 - 4:00 pm
Where: North Carolina Chapter office
   (American Legion Building)
   4 N. Blount Street, Suite 200, Raleigh, NC
Facilitator: Margie Petrakis, RRT, RN (full-time staff)
Contact: margie@alsnc.org or (919) 390-0120

Triangle Area Caregivers (Chapel Hill, Durham, Raleigh Area)
When: 3rd Monday of every month, 6:30 - 8:00 pm
Where: North Carolina Chapter Office
   (American Legion Building)
   4 N. Blount Street, Suite 200, Raleigh, NC
Facilitator: Meg Whitaker, MSW (part-time staff)
Contact: meg@alsnc.org or (919) 390-0119

Unifour Area (Hickory, Lenoir, Morganton)
When: 1st Sunday of every month, 2:00-4:00 pm
Where: The Falls Neurology
   4355 Hickory Blvd, Granite Falls, NC
Facilitators: Roz MacGuire, MSW (contractor)
Contact: rmacguire@alsnc.org
Annette Beam, RN, CNS-BC (contractor)
Contact: abeam@alsnc.org

Wilmington Area (Coastal Carolina)
When: 3rd Thursday of every month, 6:00 - 7:30 pm
Where: Church of the Servants
    4925 Oriole Drive, Wilmington, NC
Facilitator: Joseph Peters, LCSW (contractor)
Contact: jpeters@alsnc.org

Winston-Salem Area
When: 4th Tuesday of every month, 2:00 - 3:30 pm
Where: Heritage Woods
    3812 Forrestgate Drive, Winston-Salem, NC
Facilitator: Lynn Sanderson, BSW (full-time remote staff)
Contact: lynn@alsnc.org or (336) 757-2000

Telephone or Online Groups:

Genetic (Telephone or Online) .
When: 4th Monday of every EVEN month, 6:30 - 7:30 pm.
Call in information:
Join meeting from your computer, tablet or smartphone.
log in to: https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/596827893
You can also dial in using your phone.
United States: +1 (571) 317-3112
Access Code: 596-827-893 Andrea is available by phone/email in between meetings
Facilitator: Andrea Smith, MS, LCGC (contractor)
Contact: asmith@alsnc.org

ALS Information (Telephone or Online)
When: 3rd Sunday of every month, 2:00 - 3:00 pm
Call in information:
Join meeting from your computer, tablet or smartphone.
log in to: https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/677081957
You can also dial in using your phone.
United States: +1 (571) 317-3122
Access Code: 677-081-957
Facilitator: Joanna Nunez, LCSW (contractor)
Contact: jnunez@alsnc.org

Caregiver Chat Time with Meg (Telephone)
When: First Monday of every month, 7:00-8:00 pm
             Second Tuesday of every month, 12:00-1:00 pm
             Fourth Thursday of every month, 9:00-10:00 am
Where: Telephone conference line: (800) 582-3014
Participant Code: 088457128#
Facilitator: Meg Whitaker, MSW (part-time staff)
Contact: meg@alsnc.org or (919) 390-0119