What can you do to #ChallengeALS

 

Chapter Calendar

Please be aware that there are occasional exceptions to the dates below. Please see our Chapter Calendar for exact dates for support groups.

Questions about support groups? Please contact the group facilitator below for the group which interests you or Claudia Winkler at claudia@alsnc.org or 877-568-4347, ext. 225.

Resource Support Groups - For those living with ALS, family and friends.
(Open to the community)

Genetic Telephone Support Group When: 4th Monday of every EVEN month, 6:30 - 7:30 pm Where: Telephone Conference Line: 1-800-582-3014 Participant Passcode: 088457128# Andrea is available by phone/email in between meetings Facilitator: Andrea Smith, MS, LCGC Contact: asmith@alsnc.org or (877) 257-7401 x 719

Telephone Resource Support Group When: 4th Sunday of every month, 3:30- 4:30 pm Where: Telephone conference line: (800) 582-3014 Participant Code: 088457128# Facilitator: Pamela Brown, BSW Contact: PBrown@alsnc.org or (877) 257-7401 x703

Fayetteville Area When: 3rd Tuesday of every month, 5:30 - 7:00 pm Where: Massey Hill Recreation Center   1612 Camden Road, Fayetteville, NC Facilitator: Joanna Nunez, LCSW Contact: jnunez@alsnc.org or (877) 257-7401 x712

Greensboro/Triad Area When: 2nd Thursday of every month, 5:00 - 6:30 pm Where: St. Andrew's Church   2105 W. Market Street, Greensboro, NC Facilitator: Katie Wangelin, LCSW Contact: kwangelin@alsnc.org or (877) 257-7401 x 716

Greenville Area When: 3rd Wednesday of every month, 5:30 - 7:00 pm Where: Vidant Rehabilitation Center Classroom    (located behind the children's hospital)    2100 Stantonsburg Road, Greenville, NC Facilitator: Phyllis Hazel, MSS Contact: phazel@alsnc.org or (877) 257-7401 x709

Asheville Area When: 4th Friday of every month, 1:00 - 2:30 pm Where: 23 Edwin Place, Asheville, NC Facilitator: Pamela Brown, BSW Contact: PBrown@alsnc.org or (877) 257-7401 x703

Winston-Salem Area When: 4th Tuesday of every month, 2:00 - 3:30 pm Where: Heritage Woods      3812 Forrestgate Drive, Winston-Salem, NC Facilitator: Lynn Sanderson, BSW Contact: lynn@alsnc.org or (877) 568-4347 x261

Wilmington Area (Coastal Carolina) When: 3rd Saturday of every month, 1:00 - 2:30 pm Where: Church of the Servants    4925 Oriole Drive, Wilmington, NC Facilitator: Joseph Peters, LCSW Contact: jpeters@alsnc.org or (877) 257-7401 x701

Triangle Area (Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill) When: 2nd Sunday of every month, 2:30 -4:00 pm Where: North Carolina Chapter office    (American Legion Building)    4 N. Blount Street, Suite 200, Raleigh, NC Facilitator: Kate Spanier, MS Contact: kate@alsnc.org or 919-390-0126

Unifour Area (Hickory, Lenoir, Morganton) When: 1st Sunday of every month, 2:00-4:00 pm Where: The Falls Neurology    4355 Hickory Blvd, Granite Falls, NC Facilitators: Roz MacGuire, MSW Contact: rmacguire@alsnc.org or (877) 257-7401 x706 Annette Beam, RN, CNS-BC Contact: abeam@alsnc.org or (877) 257-7401 x710



Caregiver Support Groups (For active caregivers only)

Telephone Caregiver Support Group When: 2nd Saturday of every month, 10:30am - 11:30 pm Where: Telephone conference line: (800) 582-3014 Participant Code: 088457128# Facilitator: Joseph Peters, LCSW Contact: JPeters@alsnc.org or (877) 257-7401 x701

Triangle Area (Chapel Hill, Durham, Raleigh Area) When: 3rd Monday of every month, 6:30 - 8 pm Where: North Carolina Chapter Office    (American Legion Building)    4 N. Blount Street, Suite 200, Raleigh, NC Facilitator: Lisa Hoskins, MSW Contact:lisa@alsnc.org or (877) 568-4347 x 241

Charlotte (Matthews) Area When: 2nd Sunday of every month, 2:30 - 4:00 pm Where: Presbyterian Hospital Community Room    1450 Matthews Township Pkwy, Matthews, NC Facilitator: Sarah DeMaison, LCSW Contact: sdemaison@alsnc.org or (877) 257-7401 x 718

Unifour Area (Hickory, Lenoir, Morganton Area) When: 3rd Thursday of every month, 6:00 - 7:30 pm Where: The Falls Neurology    4355 Hickory Blvd, Granite Falls, NC Facilitators: Roz MacGuire, MSW Contact: rmacguire@alsnc.org or (877) 257-7401 x706 Annette Beam, RN, CNS-BC Contact: abeam@alsnc.org or (877) 257-7401 x710

Greensboro/Triad Area (WinstonSalem, High Point) When: 3rd Tuesday of every month, 6:00 - 7:30 pm Where: St. Andrew's Church   2105 W. Market Street, Greensboro, NC Facilitator: Katie Wangelin, LCSW Contact: kwangelin@alsnc.org or (877) 257-7401 x 716